top of page
  • TrUE Raider Service Break

Nothing Short Of a Blessing


As I headed out at dawn on a trip that felt like an awakening, I didn’t know what to expect. I had seen a message a few weeks back on techconnect that mentioned of a before the fall semester trip to Caprock canyon. Immediately I was interested in seeing it was a short over the weekend outing for the purpose of conservation of the environment. Raised and living in a conservative Pakistani household, my parents were reluctant in letting me go. My first trip away from them and the safe haven of home. Not forcing or forbidding anything upon me, they let me on the trip with many messages a day asking about my whereabouts and reminding me to eat well.


I made sure to send pictures. My guardians weren't the only ones hesitant about the service trip as I’ve always been sheltered and am very much an introvert by nature. As I went and met the enjoyable, adventurous, and kindhearted group of people along on the trip with me I felt my worries were silly. Everything you want is on the other side of fear and I'm very grateful for taking the chance and having a wonderful experience full of firsts and beautiful heartwarming memories



We had arrived at the serene little town of Quitaque Tx, where Caprock Canyon, a beautiful state park of fifteen thousand acres was located. At the office, we met Le’ann Pigg, a spirited park interpreter who took us to the dazzling red cliffs of the park that had been sullied with carvings of graffiti. She deeply expressed her concern over the defacement of the rock, a precious sight covered with names and dates that simply didn’t belong there. With the abandoned railroad tunnel named clarity tunnel nearby, she mentioned how the carvings there couldn’t be touched as it is a nationally recognized historic site, now ruined of its authenticity.



We worked hammering and chiseling the words off the canyon rock unveiling the stunning depth where now you are able to enjoy the view as you’re meant to. Le’anns face lit up seeing our work done surprised how there wasn’t any single bit of etching left on the rock.



She huddled us into the van and onto another site that we cleared the graffiti from and was bustling with gratitude as she went on to tell us of the rock formations of the Permian and Triassic past and show us many more beautiful sights of the canyon with detailed explanations such as one of the more noticeable honeycombs along the canyon.



After we went to the community center, napped, and made delicious stuffed bell peppers for dinner with even vegan or vegetarian depending on dietary preferences.



The trip manager, Jacy Proctor had made and packed us sandwiches for lunch and was taking care of our every desire and need, looking out for us wherever needed. It followed with the day one reflection in our journals and a good night's rest.



The next day a hardworking park ranger named James took us on utvs (very fun) to another site defiled with carvings that we took care of. His gratitude was immeasurable as we knew he had a great deal to do within the park and couldn’t remove the lettering himself with his busy schedule. He even went as far to stop along the way letting us take pictures of the canyon and telling us stories of the old indian burial sites. He showed us pieces of flint and arrowheads and helped us to discover more of Caprock Canyon in the most beautiful way.


After the graffiti removal James had given us instructions on how to get to a nearby beautiful oasis of a fern cave with water trickling down that we spent some time relaxing at and enjoyed climbing.



Afterwards we had the pleasure of taking a tour ride of the park given by Le’ann complete with adorable prairie dogs, fighting buffalo, and the serene sights of Caprock. We then went to the community center and had a rest following with dinner from a local spot, the enchanting Hotel Turkey. We bonded over the service and company, the food and music wasn’t so bad either.



Something that had stuck out to me was how a group member had mentioned that he had been to the canyon before and on the trail that was plastered with graffiti. Now when he visits again in the future he can enjoy the sight with his friends in its natural beauty knowing he took part in clearing the marks. The purpose of removing the words wasn’t to provide a clean slate for more carvings but to show and acknowledge that the park is not to be tampered with. Graffiti breeds graffiti and essentially ruining a breathtaking site with markings is forbidden. I encourage you all to spread recognition of what’s happening at Caprock Canyon and stop vandalism before it has the notion of taking place. If committed, not only would it be apart of tarnishing the park but serious fines will be given and even prison time if caught. Instead, learn to appreciate the magnificent beauty of Caprock Canyon for what it is amongst the prairie abundant in breathtaking views, bison, sunflowers, enduring trails to hike, mountains, and with much more to discover and unique history that shows to tell the tale.


My time on this raider service break was nothing short of a blessing. Seeing as everyone on the trip took care of one another warmed my heart and the amazing short get away I had from my comfort zone was a necessary part of growth to myself and to my community. I now plan to continue in service breaks and volunteer more in the outdoors. I’ve realized hiking is exhilarating especially with the agenda of doing good with like minded wonderful individuals who see the issue at hand and work together to bring change. We all can. It starts with you. I’d like to thank the RSB program with helping me Break Away from the Expected, it was nothing less than life changing. Until next time.


- Aisha Farooq

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page