top of page
  • TrUE Raider Service Break

RSB in NOLA


My name is Alexandra Lux I’m a 19-year-old freshman at Texas Tech University studying biochemistry. I decided to go on the raider service break trip to New Orleans to help better myself in things that I am lacking. I wanted to meet new people, grow as an individual, and of course see New Orleans and all of its beauty. Throughout this trip, I have learned a lot about myself and what people and other communities have gone through due to natural disasters that they were not able to prevent or prepare for. This is my story of what it was like joining an organization that values helping others better their lives.


The first day of the trip was very long. I got very close with people mainly Anna, Radhika, Deann, Jacy, and Levi. These are the people I felt the most connected to mainly because we were out in a car together for 9 hours. I hadn’t attended any of the meetings to meet the people that would be on our trip due to my work schedule so going into the experience was a little nerve-racking. I didn’t know what to expect, if they would like me, or even talk to me. I was hopeful that I would get lifelong friends. Sunday was an amazing day; it was my birthday and I got to spend it with my new friends and my family.



The next day of the trip was the one where everyone was nervous no one knew really what to expect or how to react to what we would be doing so everyone was a little on edge. However, when we got on the job site, we were with another group they were from Marquette University in Wisconsin. My first impression was that I was about to work with a group of private school kids, and I thought of the stereotype of private school kids. Turns out they were extremely nice and personable. They have done many trips to New Orleans and other parts of the country. We played a name game and started working on the house. John is the construction manager he was very nice and a great teacher. He had two helpers named Jeremy and Ray that were teaching us when John was busy. My favorite part was I got to work with a chop saw. The only part that I wasn’t excited for was I felt like I wasn’t doing anything for First half of the day. Granted we did help cut wood and build part of the house, but I felt like I was more of a burden than anything. Throughout the experience that feeling went away and I felt like I helped create something that could last a lifetime. After work, dinner, and reflections we were allowed to go down to the French Quarter and visit Café Du Monde, one of the most famous restaurants in the French Quarter. With some really good beignets and coffee. We got to walk down Bourbon Street and take super cute photos with everyone.




Tuesday came we went back to the house and continued working cutting wood, building walls, and working on the roof. The Marquette group was not there because John, our project manager, took them on their own excursion where they got to see the city and what things YRNO has accomplished. After the first half of the day of completing work we were supposed to go on a swamp tour. However, I'm not a fan of the swamps I don’t like bugs that much or the idea of a swamp. Actually, I don’t like bugs at all so hearing that the swamp tour got canceled for me was a relief. However, our tour guide had to cancel due to him having a heart attack and being in the hospital. We did get word that he was OK, which was a relief to everyone. So, if we went to plan B we went back to the house then went down to the French Quarter and got a tour of a museum as well as take time to walk around the souvenir shops and see everything we could see. The French Quarter has beautiful things like art, music, and of course beignets. After giving us time in the French Quarter we went back to the house cooked dinner, did reflections, and had time to hang out with everyone, play some epic Uno games, and go to bed. I was happy because after all that I was extremely tired.


Day three rolled around and I was ready. I was excited we were supposed to be at the house all day long. However, John had plans for us. He took us on a tour around the city showing us his house, houses YRNO has completed, as well as ways New Orleans tries to keep up with the water supply and how the city is making changes to improve any issues that they are facing. After the tour John took us to Gloria‘s garden. A very kind woman who is about 70 years old but parties like a 25-year-old according to John. She owns and runs her own garden that is open to the community that people can come and pick fruits and vegetables and have a nice calm place to relax and visit with others. She also teaches art classes and has wonderful southern hospitality. Gloria was moving to a new garden space, so we helped her paint and set up her garden. She had me, Kaitlyn, and Krysta all paint the cinder blocks that surrounded her compost area because she wanted it to be bright colored and fun. Her whole garden was full of colors and light that brought happiness to the community. I was very appreciative of everything she has done to help others around her. Her daughter is a chef that runs Gloria’s kitchen. Together they use fresh ingredients from the garden to make wonderful healthy options for everyone. After being covered in paint we went back for the night had spaghetti cooked by Chef Sara did reflections that were led by Aaron and got to hang out with everyone. Levi even took me, Deann, and Radhika to Walmart to grab last minute things for lunches and stop to grab us chicken nuggets so we could play “poker” with them. Even though we did get chicken nuggets we ended up just playing Uno. Which was still fun because me and Radhika teamed up and were gunning for Deann and Anna.




The next day was what I thought would be my favorite. This was the day where we had half a day of work and then we were getting to visit the Whitney plantation. We were supposed to go back to the house and work however our group decided to go work at Miss Gloria’s again because it was a great experience. She enjoyed our help and I was extremely grateful to go back and see her smile one last time. After working at Miss Gloria’s in the morning we went back to the house for a little bit to eat and relax and then drove off to the Whitney plantation. The Whitney plantation felt like a graveside quiet, calm, and graceful yet haunted by so much. I enjoyed every minute of my time there learning the history and seeing the beautiful scenery. I never knew something so beautiful could come from something so terrible. After the Whitney plantation we went back to the house and had a couple hours to get ready for our dinner. I helped Jacy and Levi pick which restaurant we should go to. They chose to go to Oceana Grill which is known for its famous New Orleans cuisine and it's great atmosphere. After dinner we had time to walk around and get last minute souvenirs it was a great way to bond with the girls.




Then Friday came and it was bittersweet. I was excited to be back at the house, but I was also sad I would soon be leaving and not see John, Jeremy, Ray, or any of these people that I’ve become friends with on a daily basis. We worked on the house and installed windows and I never knew how much putting in windows could change the look of a house. But it really does it goes from looking like a whole bunch of wood and not being able to imagine anything there to knowing that one day someone will be living there looking out their window and watching their children play in the backyard. For lunch instead of packing a lunch we went to get poboys from a gas station. I know how that sounds bad but apparently they were really good. John recommended them to us. There was also a taco truck near so obviously I chose to go get tacos because who doesn’t love tacos. However, Anna was a little irritated at the price two dollars a taco is not what she expected to pay. She said I could get you a whole plate of tacos for two dollars down in Mexico and everyone laughed. We went back and finished up at the house cleaned up and said our goodbyes. My favorite part of the day was when John was showing us a tour of what room would be which in the house. Even though there was nothing but walls I could already imagine what type of furniture and cabinet should be there. John even asked for my opinion on what I would do design wise if I ever got the chance. I felt honored in a way that he would even ask someone especially me who knows nothing about building houses what I would do if I ever got the chance. After saying our goodbyes, we went back to the house packed up, cooked dinner, and went to bed. None of us were ready for the idea of a 13-hour car drive tomorrow.

My last and final day I spent in a car just like the first time I was with Jacy, Levi, Anna, Radhika, and Deann. After one airport stop, multiple bathroom breaks, a trip to Buc-ees, and a flat tire we finally made it back to Lubbock by 8:30. I couldn’t be happier to have spent my last week of Christmas break with a group of people helping others. This experience helped me learn to branch out and try new things. Things I never thought I’d be able to do back home. I learned a lot about myself, our country‘s history, real estate, how to build a house, and about the people in a community coming together to help each other. I can gladly say that I would take this trip again and I can’t wait for next year to hopefully be given the opportunity to go back and help Youth Rebuilding New Orleans.


- Alexandra Lux

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page