top of page
  • TrUE Raider Service Break

Tuanis Mae

Over the past few days I have learned a ton about Costa Rica as a whole: the people, the language, the climate, the “Tico” lifestyle and even its medical world. I am sad to see it all come to an end but I am so grateful for the amazing experience.


My absolute favorite part of this whole experience was getting to meet so many new, amazing people and learn a little bit of the Spanish language. Valarie, the marine biologist at Verdiazul, is one very inspiring lady. She works so hard to do what she does and keeps a smile on her face the whole time. She is not afraid to ask for help or tell someone what to do and, as a woman, that is very inspiring. I love seeing strong women leaders that know what they want and strive for it.




Valarie is the person who taught me the phrase “tuanis mae” which means “cool dude” in Costa Rican. Tuanis combines the word “too” and “nice” from Spanish to make “cool”. It is my favorite word and just really sums up Costa Rica for me. Every one is so comfortable and laid back, while still working hard and making sure to get everything done. Everyone knows how to have a good time even when the times are tough or when all of your plans are rained out for hours. All of the people I met in Costa Rica really changed me to see the beauty and humor in everything.


Most of the trip was full of fun and hard work, but I did encounter a stomach infection that landed me at the doctor. I was very nervous going to the doctor in another country for the first time, but I was pleasantly surprised. When we got there I was lead directly to the doctor’s office and received care from the doctor himself the entire time. He took my blood to check for a cause of my pain, and then I was prescribed medication and received an IV. Everything was very clean, smooth and personal, which eased my fears.


As my first international experience, I have to give Costa Rica five stars. *****


I have not seen a more beautiful place with more passionate people who want to make a difference in the world. Even though I did get sick, I still would love to go again. I know that you can get sick anywhere and next time I will be more knowledgeable and stronger to make more amazing memories in Costa Rica.


-Taylor Young (CALUE Service Breaker)

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page