top of page
  • TrUE Raider Service Break

My “YES” Trip!


My name is Rebecca. I am so happy to say that I am in Costa Rica! With so much vegetation, culture, diversity and optimism, this country is one I hope to visit again.

Since the beginning of this trip, I have conquered so many fears. From traveling via airplane for the first time, to trying new foods, and even exploring the wildlife. This has become a “yes” trip for me and I don’t think I would have ever done this if it weren’t for CALUE.




Since we have arrived, we have been more than welcomed and treated with such gratitude. ACI had so much valuable information that has helped us better understand the reason for our time here and how to improve it for ourselves. Optimism and accommodation are two terms that I have been working to live by these past few days.


Upon arriving to Junquillal, we were treated with such optimism and kindness. It felt so good to finally be here and I was eager to start work. Since our arrival we have been given tips and rules that will guide us through the rest of our journey here. We went on a tour of Verdiazul and learned about the compost area and how important it is to clean up the leaves within the area. Also, every few days you have to turn over the compost because the leaves get very hot. VerdiAzul also is trying to grow their own plants like basil, rosemary, green beans, and so much more. The salty water of the ocean and the climate here makes it a little more difficult to grow plants by the shore.


As for the highlight of my day, was working in the hatchery.I dug up A LOT of sand and we replaced the baskets. Some baskets had nests with eggshells still in them and we dug those up as well. We had to make sure that the contaminated sand was released back into the water to ensure that it didn’t make it back into the nest and we placed it with fresh sand. We also went on a night patrol for the first time. Though it was a long walk, it was peaceful and calming. We had no luck finding a nest, but I am optimistic that the time will come when we find eggs.

It was hard work but it felt so good knowing that this was to help turtles. I haven’t even seen any yet but I love them already. After just my first day of work, I have gained so much more respect for these volunteers and caretakers who work hard 24 hours a day to ensure the future of these turtles. I am more than blessed to be here in Costa Rica and I am excited to see that these next few days hold!

Pura Vida!


Rebecca Z. Rico- Macias

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page